top of page
  • Writer's pictureMerripen Aroha

A Review of Life and Other Complications by Heather Mullaly


  • Life and Other Complications by Heather Mullaly

  • Published July 5, 2021 by Favored Oak Press

  • Book Length: 266 Pages

  • Rating of 4/5 Stars

  • Find this book on Goodreads and Amazon.

  • Tagging this book as read for review, YA, contemporary, and chronic illness rep.

  • Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book via Lola's Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review.










Okay let me just say that I went into this book as someone with multiple chronic autoimmune diseases, and that I've been dealing with them since I was a young child. Because of this, I have always been drawn to books where chronic illness is a big part of the plot. It's relatable to me. However, I had yet to read a book that had HIV+ representation, and I think that this book did an absolutely wonderful job of showing the anxieties that come with a highly stigmatized illness.


In this book we follow Aly, a teenager in high school who is HIV+. While people in town know that she is HIV+, only a few people know of how she contracted HIV. This book highlights Aly's growth and development, along with throwing in some romance (and who doesn't love a good romance).


There were so many things about this book that I enjoyed. I thought that the friendship that Aly had with Luke and Caroline was just joy educing. I had so much fun reading their interactions (especially when Luke was trying to get Aly to go to prom). But I also thought that their friendship highlighted a lot of the harsh realities of living with a chronic illness. I had such a high appreciation for the support group scenes because characters would say somethings and I would think "oh my god I feel that." This novel has the perfect mix of relatable chronic illness life and story line that it made it such a joy to read and connect with. I flew through this one, and I would so highly recommend it to those who have chronic health battles.

12 views1 comment
Traditional Library

meet the reviewer

I'm Merripen.

College Student. Reader. Escapist.  

LEARN MORE

HELLO THERE

It's nice to meet you!

Color Stain

Reviewed by Merripen

Escapism in Reading

Human Beings by Rachael Llewellyn & The 120 Days of Sodom by Marquis de Sade

Currently Reading:

bottom of page